Daytona State Students

Foster Care Students

Access to Higher Education
The 28 Florida College System public colleges admit students who have earned a high school diploma or high school equivalency diploma. The colleges offer certificates, associate and bachelor’s degree programs.

Partnerships
The Florida College System partners with the Department of Children and Families, K-12 Public Schools and State University System to connect and maximize comprehensive support for foster care students transitioning from high school to postsecondary.

Goal
The goal of the Florida College System is to increase foster care students higher education degree access, promote degree completion and prepare students for entry into the workforce.

Florida College System advisors work with foster care students to assist with enrollment, completion of college financial aid applications and exploration of career opportunities.

The Florida College System advisors also assist foster care students by providing the necessary tools for their success in college and beyond, connecting students with academic resources, scholarship opportunities, community resources and other support while pursuing their educational goals.

Contact the FCS institution foster care student advisors listed below for questions and assistance.

Vivian Scott
Broward College
​954-201-7919 | vscott1@broward.edu
Sheila Nobles
North Florida Community College
850-973-9432 | nobless@nfcc.edu
Maureen Anderson
College of Central Florida
352-254-2322, Ext. 1280 |
Dr. Aimee Watts
Northwest Florida State College
850-729-5237 | wattsa@nwfsc.edu
Melissa Cauley
Chipola College
850-718-2437 | cauleym@chipola.edu
Latisha Myrick
Palm Beach State College
561-868-3819 | myrickl@palmbeachstate.edu
Beth Hoodiman
Daytona State College
386-506-3619 | hoodimb@daytonastate.edu
Bob Bade
Pasco-Hernando State College
727-816-3413 | badeb@phsc.edu
Sandy Handfield
Eastern Florida State College
321-433-5502 | handfields@easternflorida.edu
Kim Calloway
Pensacola State College
850-484-1858 | kcalloway@pensacolastate.edu
Donna Lee
Florida Gateway College
386-754-4208 | DonnaLee@fgc.edu
Kathy Bucklew
Polk State College
863-298-6820 | kbucklew@polk.edu
Katie Norland
Florida Keys Community College
305-809-3181 | katie.norland@fkcc.edu
Bea Awoniyi
Santa Fe College
352-395-5513 | bea.awoniyi@sfcollege.edu
Mark Bukowski
Florida Southwestern State College
239-489-9067 | mbukowski@fsw.edu
Tanya Fritz
Seminole State College of Florida
407-708-2897 | fritzt@seminolestate.edu
Kathleen von Balson
Florida State College at Jacksonville
904-633-8209 | kvonbals@fscj.edu
Debra Moyer
South Florida State College
941-752-5603 | moyerd@southflorida.edu
Melissa Lavender
Gulf Coast State College
850-747-3211 | mlavender@gulfcoast.edu
Susanne Walters
State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota
863-784-7447 | walters@scf.edu
Warren Smith
Hillsborough Community College
813-253-7533 | wsmith3@hccfl.edu
Gilbert Evans
St. Johns River State College
386-312-4127 | russelg@scf.edu
Joseph Lemieux
Indian River State College
772-462-7129 | jlemieux@irsc.edu
Cheryl Kerr
St. Petersburg College
727-341-3736 | kerr.cheryl@spcollege.edu
Carolyn Scott
Lake-Sumter State College
352-536-2211 | scottc@lssc.edu
Mia Ziegler
Tallahassee Community College
850-201-9767 | zeiglerm@tcc.fl.edu
Wendy Joseph
Miami Dade College
305-237-1514 | wjoseph@mdc.edu
Benjamin Lion
Valencia College
407-582-1344 | blion@valencia.edu