Daytona State Students

Foster Care Students

Access to Higher Education
The 28 Florida College System public colleges admit students who have earned a high school diploma or high school equivalency diploma. The colleges offer certificates, associate and bachelor’s degree programs.

Partnerships
The Florida College System partners with the Department of Children and Families, K-12 Public Schools and State University System to connect and maximize comprehensive support for foster care students transitioning from high school to postsecondary.

Goal
The goal of the Florida College System is to increase foster care students higher education degree access, promote degree completion and prepare students for entry into the workforce.

Florida College System advisors work with foster care students to assist with enrollment, completion of college financial aid applications and exploration of career opportunities.

The Florida College System advisors also assist foster care students by providing the necessary tools for their success in college and beyond, connecting students with academic resources, scholarship opportunities, community resources and other support while pursuing their educational goals.

Contact the FCS institution foster care student advisors listed below for questions and assistance.

Roslyn Bailey-Oddman
Broward College
954-201-8295 | rbailey2@broward.edu
Summer Miller
South Florida State College
863-784-7447 | millers@southflorida.edu
Henri Benlolo
College of Central Florida
352-854-2322 ext. 1430 | benloloh@cf.edu
Gary Russell
State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota
941-752-5200 | russelg@scf.edu
Brooke Mathis
Chipola College
850-718-2437 | mathisb@chipola.edu
Gilbert Evans
St. Johns River State College
386-312-4200 | russelg@scf.edu
Beth Hoodiman
Daytona State College
386-506-3619 | hoodimb@daytonastate.edu
John Rouge
Florida Keys Community College
305-809-3181 | john.rouge@fkcc.edu
Dr. Sandra Handfield
Eastern Florida State College
321-433-5091 | handfields@easternflorida.edu
Melissa Lavender
Gulf Coast State College
850-747-3211 | mlavender@gulfcoast.edu
Donna Lee
Florida Gateway College
386-754-4208 | DonnaLee@fgc.edu
Warren Smith
Hillsborough Community College
813-253-7984 | wsmith3@hccfl.edu
Louis D. Lindsey
Florida Southwestern State College
904-632-3304 | L.Lindsey@fsw.edu
Joseph Lemieux
Indian River State College
772-462-7129 | jlemieux@irsc.edu
Denise Giarusso
Florida State College at Jacksonville
904-997-2527 | denise.giarusso@fscj.edu
Carolyn Scott
Lake-Sumter State College
352-536-2211 | scottc@lssc.edu
Latisha Myrick
Palm Beach State College
561-868-3819 | myrickl@palmbeachstate.edu
Barbara Pryor Dumornay
Miami Dade College
305-237-1448 | bpryor@mdc.edu
Bob Bade
Pasco-Hernando State College
727-816-3413 | badeb@phsc.edu
Suzie Cashwell
North Florida Community College
850-973-9432 | cashwells@nfcc.edu
Kim Calloway
Pensacola State College
850-484-1858 | kcalloway@pensacolastate.edu
Dr. Aimee Watts
Northwest Florida State College
850-729-5237 | wattsa@nwfsc.edu
Kathy Bucklew
Polk State College
863-298-6820 | kbucklew@polk.edu
Cheryl Kerr
St. Petersburg College
727-341-3736 | kerr.cheryl@spcollege.edu
Diana Negron-Reyes
Santa Fe College
352-395-5958 | diana.negron-reyes@sfcollege.edu
Emily Rattini-Reich
Tallahassee Community College
850-201-9767 | rattinie@tcc.fl.edu
Tanya Fritz
Seminole State College of Florida
407-708-2897 | fritzt@seminolestate.edu
Charmaine Lowe
Valencia College
407-582-5046 | clowe16@valenciacollege.edu